The Things We Do For Love

CJSR-FM88‘s 2010 Fundrive got underway this morning at 7. Click on the link to tune in, or better still, to make a pledge online to help us reach our goal of $125 000.

 

As usual for this particular point in time during this yearly exercise, I am filled with tension and dread. I tune in, but I can’t bear to listen and so I tune out again. I check the website obsessively, but I don’t even want to know so I get up and walk away, only to come back again two minutes later. I pace the floor and mutter to myself for 10 days.

It’s not that I don’t think we can do it; put up against lotsa things, from Canada’s budget deficit to the minimum salary for an NHL rookie, $125K is a pittance. But like that Jerry Reed song goes, from this end of the proceedings, it sure looks like a long way to go with a short time to get there.

But hey, just because I’m tense and full of dread, that doesn’t mean I’m worried. We’ve got dedicated volunteers, loving listeners and a positive attitude. Tomorrow on the 68Comeback Special, we’re going after the lurkers and the virgins – those folks that listen listen listen listen listen all year, who WANT to pick up the phone (780 492 2577 ext 1) and help us out with a little cash, but when it comes time to actually do it, don’t. Do you know anyone like this? Do us all a favour and start working on ’em a little in advance, okay?

Of course, CJSR’ll accept any ol’ donation from anyone who cares to make one between now and November 6, but tomorrow, me and Tom, we’ll have giveaways, interesting stories, perhaps some special guests and many compelling arguments in favour of you favouring our show with your material support for independent radio in Edmonton. Don’t be scared of being talked out of a little bit of your hard-earned money. It was bound to happen anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

