Screw you: Vegas, Matador, etc. II

Night one of Matador at 21 is underway, somewhere else in the world. Hmph. Not that I care. To paraphrase Joan Jett: “I hate rock ‘n’ roll/Don’t put another dime in the jukebox, baby.”

Nope, what I really like doing is reading. Everybody (who’s anybody) knows that reading’s where it’s really at, whereas going to Vegas for big Matador Records 21st birthday parties is for…well, everybody who’s anybody knows what that shit is for. That said, Pavement’s headlining the show tonight, and there’s stuff you can read about Pavement, if that’s your bag. So here – just to show that I’m a good sport – something to read about Pavement, for people who wish they were there, but aren’t.

As for me, my own birthday (twice as old as Matador, and twice as han’some, I might add) package from Amazon arrived today: Chronic City by Jonathan Lethem, Both Ways is the Only Way I Want It by Maile Meloy and The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ by Philip Pullman. Tao Lin’s Shoplifting From American Apparel is still en route. That’s okay, three outta four’ll keep me busy enough until it arrives.

Oh, but what are you going to read? Just teasing. Here’s a good story about Dungeons and Dragons by Sam Lipsyte, and one about reluctant vikings by Wells Tower that I linked to a lifetime or two ago that no one bothered with, but really should have, so I’m linking to it again.

So let’s get down to it. Twenty-one years old was twenty-one years ago to me, and what’s Vegas got that my couch doesn’t? Don’t answer that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

