What would Mother’s Day brunch be like?

Day after Father’s Day thoughts: one day, some months ago, my son and I were sitting at the table, doing stuff. I chose the soundtrack; I almost always choose the soundtrack. On this occasion, Laurie Anderson’s Big Science. “Let x=x.”

“Dad.”

“Yes, Gabe?”

“When will this song be over? It’s driving me crazy.”

“Pretty soon, bud.”

“That’s a really weird song.”

“Shhh. I’m listening.”

Jumping ahead to the present day, I clicked on Salon, which I don’t do as often anymore (Pitchfork even less), and after scrolling down way farther than is right and proper in order to encounter something so excellent, found this Laurie Anderson interview. 

Which reminds me, on the day after Father’s Day, that if Lou Reed had ever bothered to adopt me like he was supposed to, it sure would have been cool for Laurie Anderson to be my mom. Or, stepmom? Or, what, exactly? Doesn’t matter; Lou Reed never adopted me. But it sure would have been cool.

This shouldn’t be taken to mean that I’ve got anything against my mom, but then, has she ever created a symphony for dogs with Yo Yo Ma?

    • Gene
    • June 21st, 2010

    Reed would have been a cooler dad during his Rock & Roll Animal days.

      • 68comeback
      • June 21st, 2010

      And about as useful as my dad.

        • Gene
        • June 22nd, 2010

        As for Laurie Anderson, as great as she was during her salad days of the AIDieS, she’s still taking a lot of flack for her own ’01 Comeback Special on the broken and burned backs of those who perished in 9/11. Wasn’t her fault that someone read between the lines of “O Superman,” originally created as a response to the Contragate Affair.

        • 68comeback
        • June 22nd, 2010

        Did she dress in shiny black leather? If she didn’t, then that was probably the biggest problem, but you’d better stop talking that way about my alternate-universe mom if you know what’s good for you.

    • Gene
    • June 23rd, 2010

    Could be worse, your alternate pedigree could have included Karen Finlay, renowned for her innovative use of canned yams.

      • 68comeback
      • June 23rd, 2010

      Could be even worse.
      It’s not uncommon that things
      Are not optimal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

