On Maybe

Tom’s exact words, 3:39pm on Tuesday, June 15, 2010: “Looks like Carolyn Mark will be on the show Thursday. ALRIGHT? OKKKKAY?”

Tom, hedging his bets at 3:40 on Tuesday, June 15, 2010: “It’s a maybe for now…”

I don’t know about anybody else, but when I was a kid and I asked my parents if I could have something or do something or if we could go someplace and they said, “Maybe,” they were actually saying, “Probably not, but I’ve got my reasons for not wanting to come right out and say ‘no’ right now and they mostly have to do with the scene I know you’re going to make if I do, so just leave it, okay kid?”

Is that what Carolyn Mark is saying to me now, via Tom? Because I am going to throw such a tantrum if it is…

Thursday, June 17, 2010, from 1500 to 1700 on CJSR. It’s either Carolyn Mark, delivering her doctoral thesis on the influence of Robert Altman on Canadian alt country musicians and their relationships with their parents’ pets, post move-out, or it’s me, kicking, screaming, crying and wailing about the injustice of it all.

Either way, what else were you planning on doing that afternoon?

  1. June 18th, 2010

Leave a Reply

