You still have made a CHOICE!

I was such an excitable young fellow, there is no doubt in my mind that I came perilously close to liking Rush.

I will admit it, here and now, that I tried. I was trying. To like. Rush.

At this exact point in the story, I was on the phone with my friend Iaian B. – who really liked Pink Floyd, almost to the exclusion of everything else – saying, “Iaian! Did you hear? Rush is coming! Do you wanna go?”

Previous to this point, I had: admired the cover of Hemispheres in the window of a record store in Guelph ON; enjoyed certain Rush songs that I had heard on the radio, such as Spirit of the Radio, Tom Sawyer, and to a lesser degree Fly By Night; taken the “change” (read: money my mother gave to me for some other purchase, unspent for that purpose) and applied it to a purchase of Exit…Stage Left,  gotten in trouble for doing so and then I didn’t really enjoy the album all that much anyway (except for the hits and Free Will).

Iaian answered, “Uh, I don’t really like them.” At the same moment, I realized that neither did I. Phew! That was close!

And yet, I still sort of want to go to the Rush movie. I should call Iaian and see if he wants to go.

    • Sam
    • June 1st, 2010

    I had this same experience with U2. Except I then bought two tickets.

    Also, the Rush documentary is a totally different story! It’s made by Sam Dunn and Sam Dunn rules. Even when I made fun of him for making a Rush doc, he really kind of agreed with me that it was weird that he, a Sepultura and Gojira lover, would make a doc about Rush. Oh well, the world’s a crazy place.

    • Rich
    • June 1st, 2010

    I liked Rush until just after Moving Pictures, so I might go see them to this very day. But what’s this about being one of the “most influential” ? I’ve nerver heard a band that dared rip off Rush.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

